Mayor & Council

Governmental operation is by a Mayor and Council form of government with the Mayor elected at-large by the voters to a four-year term and an eight-member Council elected by the voters, two from each of the four (4) wards, on a staggered basis for four-year terms. The Mayor and Council operate on a legislative basis, with the Mayor having veto power.

The day-to-day operations fall within the jurisdiction of the Town Administrator whose duties are specified by local ordinance, and who generally carries out the policies adopted by the Mayor and Council. The Town maintains full-time professional management to assist in the conduct of its affairs. It has 18 major departments, with each department’s operation overseen by one or more Council members.